Klack alternative for Mac: Kiiwi vs Klack
Updated October 2026. Prices and features checked against each app's own website and Mac App Store listing.
Klack and Kiiwi both make your Mac keyboard sound like a mechanical one. Klack has been around since 2023 and is on the Mac App Store. Kiiwi is newer, sells direct, and covers your mouse and trackpad as well as the keyboard.
If you're comparing the two, here's the honest version, written by the person who makes Kiiwi.
The short answer
- Choose Klack if you're on macOS 15 or later and want an app from the Mac App Store with a long track record.
- Choose Kiiwi if you're on macOS 14 Sonoma, want to hear every switch before you pay, or want mouse click and scroll sounds in the same app.
Kiiwi vs Klack at a glance
| Kiiwi | Klack | |
|---|---|---|
| Keyboard sounds | 32 named switches, 38 recordings | Named switches (its site lists 7, including Cherry MX Japanese Black, NovelKeys Cream and Everglide Crystal Purple) |
| How the sounds are made | Real recordings, each keyboard row recorded separately | Not stated |
| Spatial audio | Yes, placed by key position | Yes |
| Key-up sounds | Yes, on 22 of 38 recordings | Yes |
| Mouse click sounds | 8 packs, plus scroll wheel ticks | Not listed |
| Typing stats | Daily keys, streaks, best WPM, top apps, share cards | Usage stats |
| Try before you buy | Hear every switch in your browser, in the playground and on each switch page | Not stated |
| Price | $4.99 once for the first 100 buyers, then $6.99 | $4.99 |
| Where to buy | kiiwi.app | Mac App Store, or direct |
| macOS | 14 Sonoma or later | 15 Sequoia or later |
| Macs per purchase | 2 | Not stated |
On macOS 14 Sonoma? Klack won't install
Klack's current App Store version requires macOS 15 or later. If your Mac is on macOS 14 Sonoma, by choice or because it can't update, Klack isn't an option. Kiiwi runs on macOS 14 and later, on Apple silicon and Intel Macs.
How they sound
Both apps play mechanical switch sounds as you type, with spatial audio and separate press and release sounds.
Kiiwi's sounds are real recordings, and the number, top, home and bottom rows of the keyboard were each recorded separately, the way a real board sounds different across its rows. Every sample is trimmed so the sound lands with your finger rather than a moment after it. Each key also picks one of five pitch variants, so a long sentence never sounds like the same sample on repeat.
Klack also randomises pitch and has a tone pad for tuning the sound. Its listing doesn't say how its sounds are made.
The best way to decide is to listen. Type in the playground to hear Kiiwi's switches one after another, or open any switch in the switch library to type on it and hear every key.
Switches
Kiiwi has 32 named switches, grouped by how they feel: linear, tactile and clicky. Some are recorded more than one way, stock and lubed, or on ABS and PBT keycaps, for 38 recordings in total. Highlights include the Holy Panda, Topre, Cherry MX Blue, Brown and Red, and an IBM Model M.
Klack's website lists seven switches, including Cherry MX Japanese Black, Everglide Crystal Purple, Oreo, Flurples Cardboard, Gateron Milky Yellow, Keychron Super Red and NovelKeys Cream. Three of those are in Kiiwi too, and you can type on them here: the Everglide Crystal Purple, Everglide Oreo and NovelKeys Cream.
Beyond the keyboard
Kiiwi also plays sounds for your mouse and trackpad: 8 click packs and scroll wheel ticks. It counts your typing (keys per day, streaks, your best WPM over a full minute, the apps you type in most) and turns your week into a share card. It only ever counts how many keys, never which ones.
Klack has its own extras: usage stats, sleep automations, notifications and AppleScript support.
Price and where to buy
Klack is $4.99 on the Mac App Store, and also sold direct. Kiiwi is $4.99 once for its first 100 buyers, then $6.99, sold at kiiwi.app. Neither is a subscription.
One difference to know: Klack is on the App Store, so it installs like any App Store app. Kiiwi is downloaded from its website and isn't notarized by Apple yet, so the first time you open it, macOS asks you to confirm in System Settings, under Privacy & Security, Open Anyway. It's a one-time step.
Which should you pick?
- Pick Klack if you're on macOS 15, prefer buying through the App Store, and keyboard sounds are all you want.
- Pick Kiiwi if you're on macOS 14, want to hear every switch before paying, want named recordings of switches like the Holy Panda and Topre, or want mouse and scroll sounds too.
Questions
Is there a Klack alternative for macOS 14 Sonoma?
Yes. Klack requires macOS 15 or later. Kiiwi runs on macOS 14 Sonoma and later, on Apple silicon and Intel Macs.
Is Kiiwi cheaper than Klack?
They cost the same at launch: $4.99. Kiiwi's launch price is for its first 100 buyers, after which it's $6.99. Both are one-time purchases.
Does Klack have mouse click sounds?
Klack's App Store listing doesn't mention mouse sounds. Kiiwi includes 8 mouse click packs and scroll wheel ticks.
Can I try Kiiwi before buying?
Yes, and you don't need to download anything. Try how each switch sounds in the playground on the homepage, then open any switch in the switch library to type on it and hear every key, including the space bar, return and the separately recorded rows. If it still isn't right for you, Kiiwi has a 14-day money-back guarantee.
Is Kiiwi on the Mac App Store?
Not yet. It's sold at kiiwi.app.
Klack is a product of its developer, Henrik Ruscon. Kiiwi isn't affiliated with Klack. Details were checked on 5 October 2026 and may have changed since.
Sources: Klack's Mac App Store listing (price, macOS requirement, features) and Klack's website (switch list).
Hear Kiiwi before you decide
Type on any of the 38 recordings in your browser. No download, no account.
Try the switches